Architectural Barriers Act

The Architectural Barriers Act (ABA) was passed in 1968. The ABA was the first federal law to require that federal facilities be accessible to people with disabilities. Examples of federal facilities are post offices, social security offices, federal courthouses, and national parks. Because the ABA was already in place in 1990 when the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) was passed, the ADA doesn’t cover federal facilities.

[ Read: Architectural Barriers Act (ABA) ]

Related Resources



  • Heading to the Shore
    Although the 2010 ADA Standards for Accessible Design do not directly address beach access, there ar...



Top Five Historic Moments in Disability Rights
1968, Architectural Barriers Act passed
1972, Ed Roberts and others establish the first Center for Independent Living
1973, Rehabilitation Act Section 504 passed
1988, Dr. I. King Jordan named first Deaf President of Gallaudet University
1990, Americans with Disabilities Act passed, amended 2008